Home Time

FINALLY! It feels like I’ve been waiting for this day for ages! It’s time to go home for the Christmas – a long day ahead but when I’m sitting on my sister’s beanbag in front of the fire tonight, I won’t be worrying about a journey then.

Monday was a weird day. Monday’s workshops was about recognising problems as a teacher – signs that all is not well with a child but also strategies with dealing with the issues you may encounter as a teacher (and who can help). It seemed a worthwhile experience. The second workshop was all about our essay for next year which I’m slightly flummoxed about – it’s group orientated research but individual essays, I think? I’m sure it will all become clearer in due course. Sandwiched between the two workshops were two lectures. I’ve expressed my opinion on lectures before – how I believe nobody learns anything from the inevitable slideshow/powerpoint orientated lectures. Nothing has happened in the last few weeks to change my mind. Very few people truly listen to the lectures. I don’t mean to be disrespectful when I say that – it’s just…true. Every so often a lecturer puts this quote up on one of their slides –  “If they can’t learn the way we teach, we teach the way they learn” (excuse my ignorance but I believe Dr Ivar Lovaas said this). The irony dawns on me every time I see this – the majority of the people reading that slide aren’t learning anything – and yet they persist with these lectures that people only seem to go to to sign in. Harsh? Yes, but a harsh reality. If I was observed to have lessons next year on probation that the majority did not engage with, I’d be told to change my approach, there is no alternative. Spending half our year going to lectures that we are not learning anything from…well, all I’ll say is that it doesn’t sit right with me!

Tuesday there were no lectures or workshops but I did have a meeting with my tutor for my placement after the Christmas. I am very much looking forward to that (but I’m not hoping for a quick Christmas). Tuesday was also the first time I played the PS3 in about 2 months! I was looking for The Walking Dead game (season 2 of the episodic game) which is released for every system EXCEPT for PS3’s in Europe. Not cool. If you play video games, please try Telltale Games’ The Walking Dead. It’s an emotional roller-coaster! Potential Christmas present for a loved one? A zombie game?

Wednesday was the day I had earmarked to clean the flat before we return home to the west of Ireland. The flat looks well. Ran out of the aul Shake n’vac near the end but I powered on. Wednesday was also one of my mates’ birthdays so a big group of us went for dinner and to see Anchorman 2. There were a lot of funny moments in it but it just never scaled the heights of the first one. Have you seen it? Maybe you thought it was better. I thought it was an excellent movie but I think the best way I can describe it is – the original Anchorman is one of my all-time favourites but Anchorman 2 may not make that list.

Today is all about the travelling!

I may have mentioned previously that I had been nominated for the Edublog Awards in the category of best new blog. I’m delighted to say that I won! I wasn’t expecting that when I was announced as a nominee! I want to thank everyone so so much that reads my weekly ramblings and for voting for me! It’s such a nice feeling to win, especially finding out on the same day I’m travelling home. When I told my mother about what I’d been nominated for she said she was very proud of me. I text back to her “Only took you 23.5 years to say that you were proud of me” but she came back with a cracker of a reply – “Only took you 23.5 years to do something useful”. Well played aul’ lady, well played.

I’ve been reading so many of the blogs/websites of the other nominees and in the best mobile app category, the winner was AR Flashcards. It’s an amazing idea and one which I have no doubt will be HUGE. Check it out here – http://arflashcards.com/. I am also delighted to see autisticandproud won his category (best student blog) – http://autisticandproud.wordpress.com/. I absolutely love this blog – I find it inspiring. I could not be happier for him on his win – certainly deserved.

image

I am in two minds about updating the blog over the Christmas. In case I don’t, I hope everyone has a fantastic Christmas and New Year and I hope Santa is good. I’m HOPING he’s got my letter. If you have any travelling to do to be home for the Christmas – safe journey.

Bye-bye! Bye, bye, bye bye bye, bye bye bye bye bye bye, bye.

Leave a Reply

