Back To Work I Go

Hello everyone! I know it has been a while since I’ve posted. I decided not to post anything over the Christmas period. I hope everyone enjoyed the Christmas and New Years. Here below you’ll find what I spent the majority of the last two weeks reading and watching – 

Image

I’ve sat down here at the laptop and I’ll soon be starting my planning for next week. I’ve been informed that there are a few new pupils and that we’ll be looking at area and perimeter next week. When I received the email from the class teacher – visions of finding the area of the school car park when I was in 4th year in secondary school came flooding back (using Simpson’s Rule). That was eight years ago. I’m not sure how I feel about that. It’s a mixture of surprise that so much time has passed since 4th year AND the fact that I can remember something from 8 years ago when sometimes I’d struggle to tell you what happened 8 minutes ago! 

My Christmas was very relaxing. I think I’m in denial about the work that is ahead of me over the next few weeks. We have an essay to do aswell but I think that will be put firmly on the back burner while I navigate my way through 4 more weeks of placement (and two full weeks of continuous).

Another topic I need to prepare for is Great Scots. I must admit I know next to nothing about Scottish history so I will have a lot to learn on this. I have a few ideas on how to cover this. I’m guessing there are a stock list of great Scots that we are expected to research – famous Scottish sports people (obvious ones – Sir Chris Hoy, Sir Alex Ferguson, Andy Murray, Jock Stein), scientists (Alexander Fleming, Sir James Dewar, Alexander Graham Bell, John Logie Baird), musicians, actors, writers, etc. We can use our literacy skills to research, read, write and perhaps record (visual or audio) our findings on these people. 

As I haven’t been back to lectures or school yet, I’ll leave it here and next week I’m sure there will be LOADS to talk about. I may be looking for a few ideas over the next few weeks and for anyone in a similar position to myself – if you use Twitter – try #edchat #edchatie #edchatuk for great (regular) discussions and tips on how to improve lessons or excellent lesson ideas. Starting the blog has helped me a lot with regards reflection on what I’m doing but getting involved in the Twitter education discussions – you can’t help but find great ideas. If you have interest in education at all – ‘where it’s at’ or the new directions it’s taking, or even just tips to help your teaching (whether that be at home or in classroom), Twitter is an excellent resource! 

Anywho, it’s time for me to get these area and perimeter lessons ready. I’ve been procrastinating for long enough. I’ll start this lesson planning right now…but maybe after one more episode of Cheers 😉

Bye, bye bye, bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye. Bye. 

Leave a Reply

